What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Cloudwatch error

Votes:

I have been using a CloudWatch sensor for a couple months to monitor 4 EC2 instances of ours. For a week now, 3 of them are reporting "Access denied. Please check your access keys. (code: PE080)". These 3 happen to be on the East coast region, and the 4th one that is still working is on the West coast region.

I have tried a new AWS Access Key and Secret Access Key. I know it is correct since it works on the instance I have in West coast region. The instance names for each of these instances is correct, they are all "basic" monitoring in EC2, the timeout is set to 60 seconds, and the period (interval) is 5 minutes.

Also, I have verified that the I can go to the AWS CloudWatch tab over at aws.amazon.com and view the metrics for all 4 instances just fine.

cloudwatch error settings

Created on Jul 26, 2011 1:41:41 PM

12 Replies

Votes:

I get the same error "Access denied. Please check your access key (code: PE080)" after update of PRTG to version 8.4.2.2380. I was running 8.3 before - and it was working without issues. To me it looks like the latest version introduced an issue?

Created on Aug 16, 2011 8:08:31 PM

Votes:

Do you both have this issue with the Region US-East (Virginia) set?

Created on Aug 17, 2011 10:47:26 AM by  Daniel Zobel [Product Manager]

Votes:

Hi Daniel,

Yes, I'm running all my instances in us-east-1 (N. Virginia) - I haven't tested other AWS locations - might be a location specific.

Created on Aug 17, 2011 1:53:01 PM

Votes:

We can reproduce the error. Unfortunately I do not have a date yet when this will be fixed.