What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

monitor interface status

Votes:

Hi,

PRTG Newbie here who has gone through the knowledgebase but not found an answer yet. Apologies if re-asking the same thing again.

We have a small but geographically diverse network consisting on Cisco, Mikrotik routerboards, E1 Modems, various MUX, Motorola Canopy and other wired and wireless devices all supporting SNMP (all do not support netflow, sflow, etc.).

Our network is a mesh with OSPF running for redundancy with 2 or more links terminating onto same Client end devices. If we use ping sensors, they always are green (or up) as ping can always take the backup route. We figure that a particular link will show down if we monitor a particular interface on say a Mikrotik or Cisco for it being Up or down.

Question: How can we monitor specific interface (physical interface or VLAN) for status?

Thanks, Vivek

interface mikrotik snmp

Created on Aug 8, 2011 12:29:30 PM

Last change on Dec 2, 2021 10:32:59 AM by  Maike Guba [Paessler Support] (2,404) 2 1

5 Replies

Accepted Answer

Votes:

Hello,

have you tried changing Connection State Handling in the "Settings" of the SNMP Traffic Sensors? If the interface is physically broken the sensor will be down anyway. If only 0 Traffic is flowing, you would need to use error-limits.

best regards.

Created on Aug 8, 2011 2:29:41 PM by  Torsten Lindner [Paessler Support]

Votes:

Thanks Torsten! Figured out a way to do it before the post went online.

What I did on my mikrotik is:
1) go to device details page (in this case mikrotik)
2) click add sensor
3) choose snmp
4) click snmp library
5) choose cisco interface oidlib