What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Monitoring RAID/disk hw on ESXi 5

Votes:

Hi,

Disclaimer: I realize there are a lot of questions on this already, but none seem to formulate the question quite clearly.

Q: How do I monitor my RAID/disks on an ESXi 5 from PRTG, reliably?

I can't see any sensor on this in the VMWare Host SOAP or any other built in sensor.

I can't find any good information on using SNMP/SNMP traps to do this. I can enable it on the ESXi, but I'm new to SNMP and find the PRTG SNMP Trap reciever to be a bit unresponsive... I can get it to send traps to another computer with another reciever, but the PRTG sensor won't pick them up. (No FW issues)

It would seem there is a need for an article on how to set this up, perhaps even improved sensors/scripts for this in the PRTG community.

esxi hardware-monitoring raid vmware

Created on Mar 27, 2012 12:47:11 PM

3 Replies

Votes:

Hello,

the status of the RAID can be shown by dedicated sensors as of PRTG 12.x.4; please see HP ProLiant System Health Sensors.

But the traps should also work, to check this it may be good to send us a screenshot showing the settings of the trap sensor in PRTG and a Wireshark capture file when such a trap is received on the PRTG host.

best regards.

Created on Mar 28, 2012 12:28:47 PM by  Torsten Lindner [Paessler Support]

Last change on Jan 10, 2014 3:50:20 PM by  Gerald Schoch [Paessler Support]

Votes:

The Workaround is very simple and how followed.

1.HP RSM CLI (Commandline-Tool):