What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Sending SMS via BulkSMS

Votes:

Hi there

I am quite new to PRTG, so forgive what could be a very basic question, but I need some guidance please with setting up PRTG to send SMS alerts via BulkSMS.

I have an account with BulkSMS (and credit with them) and I have put my username and password in the System/Notification Delivery section in PRTG. I have selected the BulkSMS option from the provided list of carriers but am not sure what to do from there.

I have a group setup in BulkSMS that need to receive the alerts - and have been told that the API URL I need to provide is this:

http://bulksms.vsms.net:5567/eapi/submission/send_sms/2/2.0?username=******&password=******&message=Message+Text+Here&dest_group_id=123456.

The rouble is I am stuck as to where to go from here.

If anyone has an idiot's guide on the steps required to get this working I would be hugely grateful.

Many thanks.

prtg sms sms-notification

Created on Dec 17, 2012 1:44:48 PM

3 Replies

Accepted Answer

Votes:

Hi,

to send a SMS with groups predefined in BulkSMS you will have to use the custom URL option for SMS in Setup | Notification Delivery.

• When filling in, please replace the message parameter with %SMSTEXT and the dest_group_id with %SMSNUMBER which finally would result in a URL looking like this:http://bulksms.vsms.net:5567/eapi/submission/send_sms/2/2.0?username=******&password=******&message=%SMSTEXT&dest_group_id=%SMSNUMBER
  • Now just save this settings and go to Setup | Notifications , add a new Notification and choose Send SMS/Pager Message.
  • As Recipient Number use the group id you got from BulkSMS.