What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Monitoring Bandwidth

Votes:

I'm new to PRTG and have taken on an existing setup. Our equipment has been discovered ok but PRTG only seems to be a PING Sensor being used with each router. How easy is it to add a Bandwidth monitoring sensor for a specific port, to see how much usage the link has? I tried to right click, add sensor. I clicked Monitor Traffic/Bandwidth, but it then says Target System Type. I can't see any option for Router/Switches. Only says Windows, File server etc.. I guess I'm doing this wrong. Basically all I want to do is check link usage on a specific port on a router.

Thanks

bandwidth-monitor network-bandwidth prtg

Created on Dec 20, 2012 1:44:12 PM

7 Replies

Votes:

Hi,
do you have tried adding a SNMP Traffic Sensor to one of the routers?
Please note that it might be necessary to adjust the SNMP settings in the device settings in PRTG.
Best regards

Created on Dec 20, 2012 2:41:39 PM by  Konstantin Wolff [Paessler Support]

Votes:

Hi, When you say have I tried adding SNMP Traffic Sensor to one of the routers, is this done via PRTG itself? When i go to Add Sensor and it says target system type, what does this mean? Is this the system I am running PRTG on or the system it thinks I want to monitor bandwidth on? All I want to do is monitor bandwidth usage of a router port

Created on Dec 20, 2012 3:25:52 PM

Votes:

Hi,
a SNMP Traffic Sensor has to be added in PRTG. When you are on the overview page of all sensor types use the Search field an type "snmp traffic". Now you should see the SNMP Traffic Sensor.