What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Adding Packet Sniffer Sensor Question

Votes:

Hi,

I am new to PTRG (v13) and would like to ask the following questions.

1. Do I need two network card to run packet sniffer sensor ? (one for the management IP)
  2. Do I need a IP address assigned to the NIC that the traffic from the mirrored port is coming?
  3. Is it possible to have multiply packet sniffer sensor from the same IP subnet? For example I would like to have one that is for the whole subnet, one from IP x.x.x.1 to x.x.x.20 and the third from IP x.x.x.21-x.x.x.254.

Thanks.

Regards.

networking packet-sniffer ptrg

Created on Jul 12, 2013 6:56:16 AM

Last change on Jul 12, 2013 1:50:00 PM by  Torsten Lindner [Paessler Support]

8 Replies

Votes:

Hello,

thank you for the KB-Post.

1. If one NIC is connected to a mirror port then yes, this is usually necessary (to have two NICs).
  2. Yes, an IP is necessary for the sniffer driver to "find" the NIC.
  3. Yes, that is also possible, just use multiple Sniffer Sensors with different Filters.

best regards.

Created on Jul 12, 2013 1:59:43 PM by  Torsten Lindner [Paessler Support]

Votes:

Hi,

Thanks. I notice that the Toplist is shown on screen by default at 15min interval. Would it be possible to aggregate it to generate over a period of time since the data is already stored in the database?.

Created on Jul 14, 2013 3:49:21 AM

Votes:

Hi,

I have managed to create a few Packet Sensor as per your advise and that works as advertised. I understand from reading your Blog and KB that you do no provide any timeline on product features or Roadmap.