What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Which .NET version does PRTG require?



Various sensors of PRTG require the .NET framework. Which version of .NET must be installed on my probe systems so that PRTG can run these .NET sensors? Which sensor types need the .NET framework to be installed?

dotnet net-framework prtg requirements sensors

Created on Jun 4, 2014 1:12:46 PM by  Gerald Schoch [Paessler Support]

Last change on Aug 1, 2022 1:22:02 PM by  Jacqueline Conforti [Paessler Support]

1 Reply

Accepted Answer



This article applies as of PRTG 24

PRTG requires at least .NET 4.7.2

Several sensors of PRTG require that the Microsoft .NET Framework is installed on each probe system. It is not possible to create such a sensor on a probe if the .NET Framework is missing on the probe system.

As of PRTG 19.1.48 requires that at least .NET Framework 4.7.2 is installed on a probe system. This is the PRTG core server with the local probe and all systems with a remote probe. If this .NET version is not installed, you receive a ToDo ticket for each affected probe after each probe update. The ticket asks you to install at least .NET 4.7.2 and shows information about the currently installed version.

After you install as of PRTG 19.1.48, you cannot add certain sensors on the respective probe unless .NET 4.7.2 is installed on the system. Running sensors show the Down status with error code PE104 after you install PRTG 19.1.49. See a list of affected EXE-based sensors below.

PRTG 17.3.34 through 18.4.47 require that at least .NET Framework 4.5 is installed on a probe system. Certain sensors do not work on the respective probe unless .NET 4.5, .NET 4.6, or .NET 4.7 is installed on the probe system. You also cannot add these sensors to such probes.

Note: PRTG 14.4.12 through 17.3.33 require at least .NET 4.0; previous versions, at least .NET 2.0.

Installing the .NET Framework

You can directly check which Microsoft .NET Framework version is installed on your probe systems in the PRTG web interface. Select Setup | PRTG Status and navigate to Probes. PRTG shows the currently installed .NET versions for each probe and indicates if the installation or an update of .NET is necessary.

To download and manually install the required .NET Framework version, see the Microsoft Installation Guide.

The following .NET versions are preinstalled on different Windows versions. For details, see this article: .NET Framework system requirements.

  • .NET 4.7.2 is preinstalled as of the Windows 10 April 2018 Update. You might have to manually install it on previous Windows versions and on Windows Server.
  • .NET 4.7 is preinstalled on Windows 10 Creators Update.
  • .NET 4.6 is included in Windows 10 and Windows Server 2016.
  • .NET Framework 4.5 is included in Windows 8 and Windows Server 2012.
  • Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 support the required .NET version, but you might have to manually install it.
  • See also this article: What version of the .NET Framework is included in what version of the OS?.

List of sensors that need Microsoft .NET

As of PRTG 19.1.48, the following sensors need .NET 4.7.2 to be installed on the probe system. Otherwise, you cannot create the sensors after an update to PRTG 19.1.48 or later.

In PRTG 17.3.34 through 18.4.47, the sensors require at least .NET 4.5.

  • Active Directory Replication Errors
  • ADO SQL v2
  • Citrix XenServer Host
  • Citrix XenServer Virtual Machine
  • DICOM Bandwidth
  • DICOM Query Retrieve
  • Exchange Backup (PowerShell)
  • Exchange Database DAG (PowerShell)
  • Exchange Database (PowerShell)
  • Exchange Mailbox (PowerShell)
  • Exchange Mail Queue (PowerShell)
  • Exchange Public Folder (PowerShell)
  • FTP Server File Count
  • Google Analytics
  • HL7
  • Hyper-V Cluster Shared Volume Disk Free
  • IPMI System Health
  • IP on DNS Blacklist
  • Microsoft SQL v2
  • MySQL v2
  • NetApp Aggregate
  • NetApp I/O
  • NetApp LIF
  • NetApp LUN
  • NetApp NIC
  • NetApp Physical Disk
  • NetApp SnapMirror
  • NetApp System Health
  • NetApp Volume
  • Oracle SQL v2
  • Oracle Tablespace
  • Ping Jitter
  • PostgreSQL
  • RADIUS v2
  • SIP Options Ping
  • Traceroute Hop Count
  • VMware Datastore (SOAP)
  • VMware Host Hardware Status (SOAP)
  • VMware Host Performance (SOAP)
  • VMware Virtual Machine (SOAP)
  • Windows MSMQ Queue Length
  • Windows Print Queue
  • Windows Updates Status (PowerShell)
  • WSUS Statistics

Deprecated sensors that need .NET

The following sensors are deprecated as of PRTG 16.1.23 (see Which sensor types will you remove from PRTG and what are the alternatives? for details). We provide this list for your information only.

  • AVM FRITZ!Box WAN Interface v2
  • HTTP SSL Certificate Expiry
  • Pingdom
  • POP3 Email Count
  • SCVMM Host
  • SCVMM Virtual Machine
  • Windows Last Update
  • Windows Logged In Users
  • Windows Scheduled Task
  • WMI Volume Fragmentation
  • WMI Windows Version

Created on Jun 4, 2014 1:19:16 PM by  Gerald Schoch [Paessler Support]

Last change on Feb 19, 2024 12:00:23 PM by  Jacqueline Conforti [Paessler Support]

Disclaimer: The information in the Paessler Knowledge Base comes without warranty of any kind. Use at your own risk. Before applying any instructions please exercise proper system administrator housekeeping. You must make sure that a proper backup of all your data is available.