What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

How can I 'group' hosts to be monitored by a single sensor?

Votes:

Hey, I work in IT support for a post production facility which has grown a lot over the past few years, and these days we are considering purchasing PRTG. We run a lot of services (transcode servers, FTP servers, several databases, 3D render farm, etc), and my manager has asked for the implemented solution to offer a dashboard that displays a list of every service, with a green/yellow/red light that indicates when a service is down. This is meant to be a map for him and other less-tech-oriented staff at our company -they don't need to know where in the infrastructure the problem has occurred, but just what's actually affected by it.

e.g. if the service in question is an FTP server we are hosting for a client, it can fail because the actual machine running it is down, because the switch is broken, because of firewall issues or due to internet connection problems. This means I would need to group the four related hosts (server, switch, firewall, router) together, so that when any of them is down, the service on his dashboard called "FTP" would appear red.

I have tried creating said dashboard as a map, but I don't need for him to see the actual hardware components or dependencies involved, just the bottom line. Something like these examples from apple's or AWS sites: https://www.apple.com/support/systemstatus/ http://status.aws.amazon.com/

What is the best way to achieve this using PRTG? My team really wants to get going with purchase, but we need to be sure this is possible to get his approval first.

Thanks, Michael