What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Step by step tutorials

Votes:

I am new to the features of PRTG and I would like to have step by step to add probes for my servers remotely regarding network monitoring in general. Specifically which IP's are needed, private or public in order to add those to devices. Any instructions would be really appreciated.

instructions network-tutorial remote-desktop

Created on Apr 9, 2015 3:17:42 PM

3 Replies

Votes:

Hi,

are you aware of the Videos Section on the main page? https://www.paessler.com/support/videos

Did you find anything helpful? Of course it will not tell you about the IPs to use and such, as those are solely relying on your network but there are quite helpful to get a good start.

But nevertheless, you should also think at first of what you really would like to monitor. If you monitor too much, you harm the network more than you do good with the monitoring.. ;)

What type of devices would you like to monitor? / Are in your scope of work?

Created on Apr 9, 2015 3:46:37 PM

Votes:

thank you for your reply. Yes I am aware of the videos presented, they are really interesting and useful but I do would like to know what I have expressed before regarding IP's that needed to be on each device, if private or public...Also if Ping at the device front is disabled is there a feature that can monitor the uptime of the server besides ping. I am not running much on those servers but only RF frequency and raw data/encryption so my intention is mostly network up-time, bandwidth, and any other suggestions you might have. Thank you RV

Created on Apr 10, 2015 4:39:09 PM

Votes: