What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

SNMP Trap Receiver: Keep "sticky"

Votes:

Hallo! I am very new to PRTG and really happy with it!

I've configured the SNMP Trap Receiver and it's working, I can receive Traps from my other server and they show up in the sensor. Also I've configured some filter with "bindings" to check for specific words which trigger the warning or error state.

In this case, the system sending the trap may only sends a message once with "error" and I want the sensor get triggered by this message BUT make it stay in the error state. As there are no more error messages being sent, the sensor jumps back to OK as soon as the next scan is performed.

I could set the scan interval to a long time, by this, the error state would be hold really long. But by this, I would also see the error only after the scan has been done after a long time. So not a very good way.

Is there any way to make the sensor stop scanning after en error was received? Or make the state "sticky" and wait for someone who confirms it? Sure, I've set up notifications which will sent directly when the error is recognized, but I want the sensor being red in the UI and not green even if the error is still valid.

Any ideas?

Thanks for your support!

Marc

snmp sticky trap-receiver

Created on Mar 19, 2016 9:21:27 PM

8 Replies

Accepted Answer

Votes:

Hi Marc,
letting the sensor stay in the status determined by the trap (in this case error) is not possible currently. After the next scan it will go up again.
This functionality is on the wishlist for upcoming releases already but it is not clear yet if or when exactly this feature will be implemented.