What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Probe/core handshake failed!

Votes:

Hello everyone,

I have a question. I want to install a remote probe on a hosting environment. We want to start using PRTG as our new monitoring tool on our clients servers and network devices.

I am kinda new with PRTG but I have seen enough to know how to install a remote probe on a server.

When I try to connect to our Management server via the web browser which has the Core server and local probe installed I can't connect. I get the message :

This page can’t be displayed.

Well, this is a not so strange issue, but : when I try to ping the website, from the same server, I get an reply. So I thought, if I take the IP adres which I got back in the reply, and put the port 23560 behind it, I might be able to reach the webpage. So I did, and it also came back negative. Same message : This page can’t be displayed.

So I tried to ping from my local machine, and I got another IP address back.

So I thought, what if I took that IP address and fill it in the browser on the hosting envorinment, maybe I would be able to reach the website. And I did!

The message I got was : There is a problem with this website’s security certificate. Ofcourse this would not be an issue since I trust the website because it is managed by our company. So I chose for Continue to this website (not recommended).