What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Custom-SSH-Script Return Value 2 Produce Integer Values

Votes:

Hello, I have put together a bash script for a custom SSH Script Sensor so that I can monitor used INode counts. We have a Linux server that seems to spike on INode or open file usage and crashes. I should mention that I am fairly new to the world of PRTG and bash scripting. My script works in that I can set a threshold count range and it will produce the correct value count, plus PRTG recognizes the state changes (OK, Warning, Error).

The problem I'm hoping to get some help with is that when I set the return value to a "2" by the nature of that being seen as a system error, PRTG doesn't seem to display any integer counts in the "Value" channel. But it will display them if you change the return value to a "0" or a "1". So an example sensor message with the "2" value might look like this: "System Error: Count EXCEEDED Test (Code: PE022). Graph = Value > No data.

We'd like to be able graph the used INodes data when it crashes and goes into a down state or "2". This is the script that works on our Linux server:

#!/bin/bash

#A shell script to monitor INode counts for root
output=$(df -i | grep root | awk '{print $3}')
if [ "$output" -ge 0 ] && [ "$output" -le 30000 ]; then
echo 0:$output:Count OK
elif [ "$output" -ge 30000 ] && [ "$output" -le 36000 ]; then
echo 1:$output:Count WARNING
elif [ "$output" -ge 36000 ] && [ "$output" -gt 42000 ]; then
echo "2:$output:$output:Count EXCEEDED Test"
fi