What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Calculations on sensor data

Votes:

Hello! I am rather new to PRTG, and so far we've loved it for monitoring our systems mainly because of how easy it was to setup. Now I want to get deeper into it, and my first goal was to get the total number of pages printed per day, and I can't find a sensor for it allready so I am trying the Sensor Factory.

I only need to store the total nr of pages printed yesterday and subtract todays number, the guide on sensor factory wasn't clear on how to exactly do this.

Also I just created the account, why are we only allowed to have maximum of 16 characters as a password?

calculations math password printer prtg

Created on May 22, 2017 12:56:26 PM

4 Replies

Accepted Answer

Votes:

Zeay,

I just came online to post the same question!

It would be great to have a "page bandwidth", how many pages since last time i checked.

And I just found it!!, add a custom SNMP sensor, use the OID of 1.3.6.1.2.1.43.10.2.1.4.1.1 and set the counter type to "delta". The OID might change for different printers, i tested with Kyocera and HPs

I am going to use this for auditing unneeded prints (lazy people printing emails for example), and also used in conjunction with monitoring toner levels to work out the cost per page.

Thanks for the motivation to work this out :)

Andrew

Created on May 23, 2017 4:13:58 AM

Last change on May 23, 2017 7:42:46 AM by  Luciano Lingnau [Paessler]

Votes:

Hi there, thank you for your post.