New Question
 
 
PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use.
Easy to manage.

300.000 administrators have chosen PRTG to monitor their network. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free PRTG
Download >>

 

What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general. You are invited to get involved by asking and answering questions!

Learn more

 

Top Tags


View all Tags


PRTG Delete User Group

Votes:

0

Your Vote:

Up

Down

After deleting a User Group the group still remains in the database possibly in a different table? When I go to create a new trigger the User Group I just deleted is still available in the drop down list. What's the deal? Did it not purge it out of the database properly? How do I get rid of these old groups from displaying anymore. The group did delete as it no longer shows under Setup -> System Administration -> User Groups. However if I right click any Device Group and go to Edit -> Notifications and select Add State Trigger and the drop down box that is defaulted to "no notification" the deleted User Group still remains in the list.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

delete prtg user-groups

Created on Mar 8, 2018 9:46:03 PM by  khess13 (0) 1



4 Replies

Votes:

0

Your Vote:

Up

Down

Dear khess13,

except for a short time after the deletion, the deleted group should not be visible anymore. The lag can happen because many lists are buffered, because having them to created for every query would impact the performance.

Created on Mar 9, 2018 2:43:07 PM by  Arne Seifert [Paessler Support]



Votes:

0

Your Vote:

Up

Down

Well I'm almost at the 24 hour mark now and it is still showing the old group name in there. What's a "short time" duration? I'm seeing many more group names in the drop down list that don't exist in the groups page that I know have been there for a long time now.

Created on Mar 9, 2018 8:15:52 PM by  khess13 (0) 1



Votes:

0

Your Vote:

Up

Down

Deleting a user group doesn't automatically delete the Notification that was created along with the User-group. The notification has to be deleted manually as well.

Created on Mar 13, 2018 12:54:32 PM by  Torsten Lindner [Paessler Support]



Votes:

0

Your Vote:

Up

Down

Thank you Thorsten! That is what I was looking for. I was unaware that Notifications were separate from the User Groups. Under Setup -> Account Settings -> Notifications you have to purge old ones so they no longer show up. Thanks for helping resolve this!

Created on Mar 13, 2018 1:41:51 PM by  khess13 (0) 1



Please log in or register to enter your reply.


Disclaimer: The information in the Paessler Knowledge Base comes without warranty of any kind. Use at your own risk. Before applying any instructions please exercise proper system administrator housekeeping. You must make sure that a proper backup of all your data is available.