New Question
 
 
PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use.
Easy to manage.

200.000 administrators have chosen PRTG to monitor their network. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free PRTG
Download >>

 

What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general. You are invited to get involved by asking and answering questions!

Learn more

 

Top Tags


View all Tags


How can i resync the active directory? Is there any Feature?

Votes:

2

Your Vote:

Up

Down

I want to update the user and group list. I tried to restart theprtg service and re-integrate the active directory.

Old AD User are always be there, though they are not in the used group and Users I have added to the AD Group will not be shown.

Thanks for helping.

Regard

Tim

active-directory ad-integration groups prtg user

Created on Nov 12, 2018 10:59:50 AM by  tsuser (2) 1



4 Replies

Accepted Answer

Votes:

0

Your Vote:

Up

Down

Hi tsuser,

As mentioned in the Notes and Limitations: If you want to reflect changes to your AD in PRTG, you have to delete the AD user group and all members first. Then add the AD group anew. This is because PRTG does not synchronize with your AD automatically in the current version.

We collect feedback to improve the AD integration in the future for this Feature Request: [OPEN] Improve AD-Integration in PRTG (including SSO with AD or ADFS, 2FA). Make sure to vote for.


Kind regards,
Felix Saure, Tech Support Team

Created on Nov 13, 2018 11:51:15 AM by  Felix Saure [Paessler Support]

Last change on Mar 14, 2019 8:22:11 PM by  Torsten Lindner [Paessler Support]



Votes:

1

Your Vote:

Up

Down

This is a real showstopper for us. Delete the group and users and add them anew? If you delete the group, how are you going to find out where the group was used in PRTG, so you know what is affected. Think ENTERPRISE please. PRTG is becoming too labor intensive because of it's limitations.

Created on Mar 14, 2019 12:09:10 PM by  ahoppe (50) 1



Votes:

0

Your Vote:

Up

Down

Hello,

is there any update on this ? There are soo many customers out there (maybe all) need the feature to sync AD-Usergroup changes to PRTG. Its absolutly NOT a solution or workaround to delete AD-User and AD-Usergroup in PRTG an re-add them.

Created on Aug 16, 2019 5:13:09 AM by  fabianra (0) 1



Votes:

0

Your Vote:

Up

Down

Hi fabianra,

Thank you for the feedback.

We have no AD-Sync feature (if a user is deleted from a group) in PRTG, since deleting a user from a group could cause issue with, e.g. the configured security context in PRTG. Please note that you only have to recreate the AD-User if you delete the user from a AD group. Adding the user to a further group should not be a issue.
All upcoming features in PRTG are displayed on our Roadmap.

Best Regards,
Moritz Heller
Paessler Tech Support

Created on Aug 16, 2019 8:04:37 AM by  Moritz Heller [Paessler Support]



Please log in or register to enter your reply.


Disclaimer: The information in the Paessler Knowledge Base comes without warranty of any kind. Use at your own risk. Before applying any instructions please exercise proper system administrator housekeeping. You must make sure that a proper backup of all your data is available.