What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Error in adding SNMP sensor with a specific OID

Votes:

Hello, i have installed PRTG 7 on my infrastructure and i have already been amazed with the result i had with so little effort in configuration and setting ... thanks for this terrific product.

I'm nearly about to order. nevertheless main point of such a tool is to include also hardware monitoring of my servers. i studied last week the different thread about it and understood that starting from my mib files and using the mib import tool, it was possible to create OIDlib.

we have HP DL360 G6 server. I picked the servers mib file from one of the HP install CDs. used import tools, that told me that this was good, and that he can understand all the counters there.

Now when i go in my PRTG main console and add for a remote server a sensor, selecting SNMP option with librairy and picking the librairy i created before, system think about it for a one minute and then comes with a panel saying "Sorry, the scan for Available monitoring items has failed!" error message "no available interface on the device (code PE049)"

looking at the explanation, i can't undrestand which of reasons are applicable, also with prtg can auto discover the device with its usual sensor...

i have created few other OID in case the one i use was not applicable, but same result...

Can somebody help me to sort this issue out, my temporary licence is expiring in 4 days now, and i will not be able to order without having achieve this hardware monitoring objective.

thanks in advance.

hardware oid prtg

Created on Aug 31, 2010 3:20:27 PM