What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Setting up PRTG to monitor laptop battery life

Votes:

I am new to PRTG and would like to monitor the battery life of multiple laptops across our network.

Have conducted a search on these forums but haven't found anything useful yet.

The idea behind this is so that we can monitor the battery life of our remote laptops. These laptop users don't have ready access to a power source so if we can see when the battery life drops below a certain point. We implement a plan to replace the laptops before they run out to minimise downtime.

I imagine I will have to find a suitable WMI to monitor? Maybe Win32_Battery?

battery prtg

Created on Mar 3, 2019 10:41:53 PM

4 Replies

Accepted Answer

Votes:

Hi Mercury84,

This should be possible - did personally never try it - but have a look at this:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/desktop/cimwin32prov/win32-battery

All you eventually need is to identify the information you want to see and engage PRTG with a WMI Custom (String) sensor or e.g. a PowerShell script to collect the data.

I am not aware that there are any standard sensors for this.

Keep in mind, laptops aren't static systems - they might be online/offline - I suppose you engage remote probes or something similar for this..