What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Packet Sniffer Sensor doesn't recognize network adapter

Votes:

I'm new to PTRG so please bear with me.

I am attempting to add the packet sniffer sensor to my local probe. When configuring it, the network adapters setting is grayed out and says "No network adapters available." I currently have the onboard NIC collecting SNMP traffic. I also have a PCIE NIC with two interfaces. I'm hoping to use one of those to receive traffic using SPAN.

I have searched for awhile and haven't come up with a solution. One thing I found was to check the administration tool in the Probe Settings and Monitoring tab to make sure the interfaces show up and select auto. That looks fine to me.

One other note, I'm able to capture traffic through wireshark on all of the interfaces.

Hopefully I'm just missing something simple. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

no-network-adapters-available packet-sniffer prtg

Created on Oct 19, 2019 4:25:20 PM

11 Replies

Votes:

Hello,

thank you for the KB-Post. Do the NICs have both MAC and IP-Addresses set in their WIndows NIC-Settings? Usually having those not set it the problem, when PRTG reports "No network adapters available".

best regards.

Created on Oct 21, 2019 9:03:51 AM by  Torsten Lindner [Paessler Support]

Votes:

Thank you for the reply!

Yes, all three interfaces have physical and ip addresses.

ipconfig output

Created on Oct 21, 2019 3:56:29 PM

Votes:

Okay, then we need to check the logs here. Please forward us a Support Bundle including the system log files for analysis, with a note to this KB-Thread here please.