What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

Status Down - not emailing

Votes:

I am new to PRTG but I am a little puzzled.

System setup and running, servers, sites and other devices all been monitored, they show as down on the home screen and the servers email when they are down yet the sites don't.

What should I be looking for as we had a site down but no email this morning and PRTG clearly shows it was down from 4am and another monitor we use picked it up.

Where can I look to check this out?

down notification-email status

Created on Apr 1, 2020 9:39:05 AM

5 Replies

Votes:

Hello Matt,

Thank you for your post.

Do I understand you correctly that you do not get notifications only for some sensors?
If that is the case, please check if the sensors went down (if they correctly reported the error), and if they have any triggers set in their Notification Triggers tab.

Kind regards,
Sasa Ignjatovic, Tech Support Team

Created on Apr 1, 2020 1:10:29 PM by  Sasa Ignjatovic [Paessler Support]

Votes:

Hi Sasa,

We have 4402 sensors and I cannot see any notification triggers setup, all seem to be inheriting but from where I am not sure.

Looking back at my alert emails we only appear to be getting ones on WMI Free Disk Space even though we have ping etc setup.

Regards

Created on Apr 3, 2020 8:19:20 AM

Votes:

Hello Matt,