What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

PING false alarms

Votes:

I'm new to PRTG; monitoring was set up by a previous admin, and I inherited it. We're monitoring a dozen or so devices, all of which have a PING sensor.

Very lately, we've been getting simultaneous PING alerts for all devices. They are showing as offline for hours at a time, and then they simultaneously close. Needless to say, these servers are not offline at all, and we have no known connectivity issues.

Sensor settings are unchanged since the problem started, and I think they're defaults. Regardless, here's what they are:

Timeout: 2 Packet size: 32 bytes

Method: Send one single ping

Auto acknowledge: Show "Down" status on error

Scanning Interval: 30 seconds

When a Sensor Reports an Error: Set sensor to "down" immediately.

When sensor state is Down for at least 60 seconds perform Ticket Notification

When sensor state is Down for at least 300 seconds perform no notification and repeat every 120 minutes (<--Some "outages" last for 4-6 hours)

When condition clears after a notification was triggered perform no notification

false-alarm ping sensor

Created on Jul 28, 2015 5:00:46 PM

19 Replies

Votes:

When the ping sensor goes down, can you still ping the servers in case from a Command Prompt on your PRTG server?

Created on Jul 29, 2015 8:47:21 AM

Votes:

No, I can't. But I also have a lot more information now.