What is this?

This knowledgebase contains questions and answers about PRTG Network Monitor and network monitoring in general.

Learn more

PRTG Network Monitor

Intuitive to Use. Easy to manage.
More than 500,000 users rely on Paessler PRTG every day. Find out how you can reduce cost, increase QoS and ease planning, as well.

Free Download

Top Tags

View all Tags

SSH Script Linux - API

Votes:

We are currently testing using PRTG for network and server monitoring. We run Windows Servers and Ubuntu servers.

I am a Windows tech, but need to get PRTG monitoring our Ubuntu Linux servers. I have the basic out of box probes running on Ubuntu, and am currently collecting data.

We would like to look into running SSH script probes on the Linux systems. We want to monitor master/slave replication, Docker activities, and MySql activitiies.

I have read the Linux system needs to have the API installed and have our scripts in the PRTG folder.

I cannot figure out how to get the API on the Linux systems. Can someone shed light on how i can get the API on the Linux systems.

Thanks for the help!

-Evan

linux ssh ssh-script ubuntu

Created on Jan 10, 2019 5:01:19 PM

7 Replies

Votes:

Hello evan631,

Thank you very much for your contact.

Just to check, did you already review the following articles:

The linked article describe approaches on how to be deployed properly.

Would you please let me know, whether this suits your requirements?

Best,
Sebastian

Created on Jan 11, 2019 12:06:55 PM by  Sebastian Kniege [Paessler Support]

Last change on Jan 11, 2019 12:07:03 PM by  Sebastian Kniege [Paessler Support]

Votes:

Thanks for your reply!

It is still not clear where I get or how to use the PRTG API to run SSH scripts on Linux.

I see mentioned that scripts need to be in the PRTG folder on the linux box, but how do i get that folder there.

Thanks

-Evan

Created on Jan 11, 2019 2:45:31 PM

Votes:

Hello Evan,

Thank you very much for your response.